UEFA banning European Super League participants from World Cup

European Super League, UEFA, World Cup

More controversy continues to emerge from the formation of the European Super League as UEFA President Ceferin has announced that all players participating will be banned from seeing action for their respective national teams in the World Cup, per sports business expert Joe Pompliano.

The newly established league is set to be composed of 12 European powerhouse squads, including Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, and Tottenham Hotspur of the English Premier League. Serie A’s AC Milan, Inter Milan, and Juventus will also see action, while Spanish clubs Atletico Madrid, Barcelona, and Real Madrid complete the list.

The European Super League is expected to expand up to 20 clubs, with three more founding members to be announced and then five teams set to qualify each year. With its formation, the aforementioned clubs could quit or get banned from their current leagues once they make the jump.

The owners of the big clubs are aiming to get a bigger portion of TV revenue and sponsors with their decision to move to the European Super League. It will also create a closeted structure that will only pit the powerhouse squads with one another.

Meanwhile, established football associations like the Premier League would see a drop in value if these top teams are no longer taking part. This could eventually cost them huge financial losses as they are expected to see a decrease in their TV revenue and sponsors once the teams officially relocate to the new league.

If this new ruling by UEFA holds, international stars such as Argentina’s Leo Messi, Portugal’s Cristiano Ronaldo, and Egypt’s Mohamed Salah would all miss the upcoming 2022 World Cup to be held in Qatar and beyond.

The post UEFA banning European Super League participants from World Cup appeared first on ClutchPoints.

UEFA banning European Super League participants from World Cup