Mayo LGFA Senior panel announced

I’m coming late to the party on this one – two days late, in fact – but it’s still worth noting the announcement made the other day about the Mayo LGFA Senior panel for this year’s Championship – which is here.

Here’s the panel that was announced on Friday:

A total of fourteen clubs from across the county are represented on the Senior panel for the forthcoming Championship. County champions Knockmore lead the way with five players, while Hollymount and Westport have four players each. In a sign of the changing fortunes at club level, Carnacon have just one players – the evergreen Fiona McHale – on the list.

Notable absentees from the panel include all the players from the county – with the exception of Rachel Kearns – who played in the AFLW earlier this year. This means that for the first time in a while Mayo won’t have the services of the likes of Sarah Rowe or the Kelly sisters for the forthcoming Championship.

It’s a campaign that’s set to start with a bang at Tuam Stadium next Sunday as the opening match is a tasty Connacht final clash with Galway (throw-in 4pm). The best of luck to manager Michael Moyles and all the players then and for the rest of this year’s Championship too.

Mayo LGFA recently launched a 50/50 Lotto, the first draw for which takes place on Monday, 23rd May at 9pm. More details on that are here.

The post Mayo LGFA Senior panel announced appeared first on Mayo GAA Blog.


Mayo LGFA Senior panel announced