Team named for Kildare game

Earlier this morning we named our starting fifteen for tomorrow evening’s Round 2 qualifier against Kildare at Croke Park (throw-in 6pm). Here it is:

Mayo (All-Ireland Qualifiers Round 2 v Kildare, 11/6/2022): Rob Hennelly (Breaffy); Lee Keegan (Westport), Oisín Mullin (Kilmaine), Enda Hession (Garrymore); Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels), Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore, captain), Eoghan McLaughlin (Westport); Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy), Matthew Ruane (Breaffy); Diarmuid O’Connor (Ballintubber), Jason Doherty (Burrishoole), Conor Loftus (Crossmolina Deel Rovers); James Carr (Ardagh), Jack Carney (Kilmeena), Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber).

So it’s two changes from the team that lined out the last day against Monaghan. Into the starting fifteen come Jason Doherty and Conor Loftus, replacing Aiden Orme and Bryan Walsh. Neither Ryan O’Donoghue nor Jordan Flynn feature in the team but we haven’t named the full match day panel as yet so they may (or may not) be on the bench for Croke Park.

The team we’ve named for tomorrow contains only eight players who also started in the Round 7 match against Kildare in the League. Lee, Oisín, Aidan, Mattie, Jack, Diarmuid, James and Jason all lined out that day in Carrick-on-Shannon while the seven others who started that game were Rory Byrne, David McBrien (injured?), Brendan Harrison (now a long-term injury absentee), Rory Brickenden, Jordan Flynn (injured since), Michael Plunkett (injured and out for the season) and Ryan O’Donoghue (injured since). Enda Hession and Stephen Coen, both in tomorrow’s team, featured off the bench for us at Páirc Seán.

The best of luck to the lads in tomorrow’s all-or-nothing game.

The post Team named for Kildare game appeared first on Mayo GAA Blog.


Team named for Kildare game